Skip to content

‘Running for Reachout’ goes Ultra

cnm100_emotion

There’s a race on this weekend in the west of Ireland and it’s not just another marathon. This Saturday sees the country’s longest ultra-marathon begin at 6am, continuing through until (at the very latest) midday on Sunday. It’s in Connemara, it’s 100 miles long, and I’m going to be there. Never having done anything longer than the standard 26.2 mile marathon before, it’s going to be nothing short of miraculous if I complete this. I have a support crew put together; updates on race-day will be coming thick and fast at http://www.facebook.com/runningforreachout and http://www.twitter.com/runnin4reachout and you guys will have all the gory details  in the race report next week.

Let’s do this thing.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. Holy Hell. Good luck with that!!

    August 8, 2012
  2. Woooo. I wish you the best.

    August 8, 2012
  3. Thats awesome!! Goodluck!!

    August 8, 2012
  4. Badass! Following you on twitter @cjwoodard to keep up to date on the ultra. Good luck!

    August 8, 2012
    • Following you back, I’ll get somebody on the crew to tweet stuff out on the day, probably pictures of me crying mostly :D

      August 8, 2012
  5. Holy crap, dude, that’s a LONG way! I haven’t even wanted to ride my bike that far! But, people like you make me want to bump up my goals, so I’m going to train for a 10k next spring and maybe even a half marathon next fall! Yea! Keep inspiring us!

    August 8, 2012
  6. Tony #

    Best of luck with it. I’m a bit surprised that your entry was accepted, as your longest is a marathon. I hope it goes great for you.

    August 8, 2012
    • I think it was the 3 marathons in 3 days last May that swung it for me, still a big step up though…

      August 8, 2012
      • Tony #

        Ah, now that makes sense to me (I only started following your blog recently when I saw it on runireland.com). Best of luck – I think it’s a fantastic race and everyone that finishes is a winner.

        August 8, 2012
      • Thanks, at the very least I’ll get a good article out of it :D

        August 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers

