Skip to content

Running for ReachOut.com (Interview)

ReachOutLogoRGB

This is the complete interview with the gang at Reach Out from last week. The original can be found here on their website. Thanks for visiting!

Running for ReachOut.com

We interviewed Oliver about what inspired him to run for ReachOut.com, the challenges he has faced so far and how he is working through them.

Tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a trainee accountant based in Louth. I received a BA in Economics, Politics and Law from Dublin City University and am currently working and studying accountancy. When I’m not working or running, I enjoy debating, Gaelic football, movies and music.

Why do you want to raise money for ReachOut.com?

I feel it is very important to highlight the challenges that young people in Ireland face. Mental health is something that is often not spoken about at all, or when it is, there is still a strong stigma attached to it. Mental health issues affect everyone at some stage in their lives; I feel it is vital that there is support out there for young people, specifically so that they do not go through their 20s and 30s carrying this burden. As soon as these issues present themselves, they should be treated head on – ReachOut.com is a service dedicated to providing quality assured mental health information for young people and highlights inspiring real life stories by young people to help other young people get through tough times. This is why I want to ‘Run for Reachout!’

Why so many marathons?

I thought this would be a novel way to draw interest and money for ReachOut.com. Also, doing and completing so many marathons gives me a great sense of focus and drive.

What has been the biggest challenge you have faced since you started preparing for the marathons?

The biggest challenge so far was that I had to stop training for a couple of weeks as I injured my knees while hill training over Christmas. Raising money is equally challenging but I’m up for it!  In relation to raising money, there have been many challenges in terms of educating myself in the whole area of using blogging and social media, including Facebook, Twitter, MyCharity and WordPress – I’ll be using these a lot more in the future!

How have you overcome this?

As far as my training is concerned, my recovery time allowed me to re-think my training and now I have started to incorporate Power Yoga into my training so as to prevent more injuries (hopefully!) It also gave me a chance and the time to learn about social media and get advice from my friends and colleagues for information on how to get the word out about my running and ReachOut in general.

Follow Oliver’s story

You can follow Oliver’s journey through his blog, facebook and twitter. We will also be keeping you updated on Oliver’s adventures here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 861 other followers

